Skip to Main Content

EndNote

Setting up EndNote

Go to the EndNote application from the desktop or Start Menu.

Select Create a new library.

  1. Go to File > New… (give it a unique name)
  2. Choose a location to save & open your Library eg C:\data. Do not save on share drive (I:\ drive) or synchronise with cloud (eg: OneDrive, iCloud, Google Drive, Dropbox etc).
  3. Click Save.

A blank EndNote Library (as shown) will open. 

Start adding references or continue to the next tab to set up Find full text.

Magnifying glass iconEndNote finds and attaches full-text PDFs to certain citations that are available for free

  • Highlight all citations (CTRL+A)
  • Click Find Full Text icon
  • Number of PDFs found/not found is displayed in the navigation menu on the left (under Find full text)

 

 

 

 

NOTE: EndNote is not able to download all PDFs due to: subscription changes, technical issues, or certain databases has disabled this feature.

After EndNote has finished searching, click on "Found URL" or "Not found" groups (under Find Full Text on the left) and right click on any citation and select OpenURL Link. This will either take you to Springboard to access and download the PDF or to the article request form.

View or search the full text article and any personal notes added to the citation if a PDF is attached. Manually attach PDF to a citation if it could not be found using the Find Full Text feature.

  • Download the PDF (from the journal, database or email)
  • Click on the citation in EndNote
  • In Summary view, click on + Attach File
  • Attach the PDF previously downloaded
  • Click Open
  • Press CTRL+S to Save

NOTE: You can attach other file formats such as Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and can attach multiple documents using the above instructions.

Each EndNote Library consists of 2 items:

  •  Library file (with the extension .enl)
  •  Data folder (with the extension .data). 

Always backup the EndNote Library using the Compressed Library option.

While EndNote Library is open, go to File > Compressed Library > Select with or without attachments. The file extension changes to .enlx (Archived EndNote Library) and the icon shows a clamp.

  • Library file (with the extension .enlx) 

WARNING: Do not store an active EndNote Library in cloud storage or shared drives (such as Dropbox, OneDrive, Google Drive, iCloud, (H:) or (I:) drives etc). This may corrupt your library and cause irreversible errors. Further instructions to create a folder that does not sync to OneDrive or iCloud are below.

Turn off cloud synchronising