Subject Guides: Finding Evidence: Databases

Databases

There are many journal databases which specialise in various health topics. Search journal databases through the NSLHD Libraries Springboard.

To ensure you find the best available evidence, you'll need to search multiple relevant journal databases.

Some of the major journal databases and their specialisations are:

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
A database with a focus on mental health. It includes references to psychological, social, behavioural, and health sciences literature.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Nursing and Allied Health literature including Social Work, Physiotherapy, Psychology, Podiatry, Speech Pathology, Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy.
Embase This link opens in a new window
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database. It includes all Medline content, and is a good source of information for pharmacology, rehabilitation, medicine, mental health and other areas.
Health Business Elite This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive journal content on all aspects of healthcare administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. Topics covered include, Hospital management, Hospital administration, Marketing, Human Resources and Facilities management.
Maternity & Infant Care (MIDIRS) This link opens in a new window
Key information resource used by maternity health care professionals worldwide covering the midwifery profession, pregnancy, labour, birth, postnatal care, infant feeding, neonatal care up until two years of age, and the transition to parenthood.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Over 23 million of the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,600 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages. English abstracts are included in more than 80% of the records.

Using Keywords and Subject Headings

You will already have a lists of keywords, synonyms and related words for each concept in your question.

You need to find the relevant subject headings in each database, then search keywords as well. This video from the University of Sydney looks at the difference between keywords and subject headings.

Databases have different subject headings, and different methods of searching keywords. See this guide on the key database functions, search functions and correct syntax across a few of the biggest databases.

Database Syntax Guide

Combining search terms

When you have your subject headings and keywords, you need to group them using AND & OR.

This video from the University of Sydney looks at combining search terms.

Filters

Databases allow you to limit your search using filters. Common filters include:

Publication date - limit to last 5 years if older studies aren't clinically relevant
Age group - limit to teenagers or older adults
Study design - limit to case studies, RCTs or systematic reviews

Keep in mind that using database filters may exclude relevant results, as not all citations have filters applied to them.

The ISSG Search Filter Resource

If you are doing high level research, such as a systematic review, you should choose a published, validated search filter, not rely on the databases' filters. Available published filters, along with appraisal and validation studies, are listed on ISSG UK Library group supporting NICE - the National Institute for health and care excellence.

Search strategies for specific topics

One strategy for finding a search filter on a particular topic is to use the search terms from a high quality systematic review, such as a Cochrane review. Systematic review search strategies are published in the appendix or supplementary files.