Subject Guides: Medicines and Pharmacy: Mental Health

Key Resources for Mental Health

Medicines Information

A selection of Medicines databases related to psychopharmacology. For a list of general medicines databases, see Databases & Journals.

APA PsycINFO For psychology and psychiatry topics
Choice and Medication for NSLHD Consumer medication information for NSLHD staff. Access via the MHDA Quality and Safety Intranet site > Under Quick Links
Maudsley Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry 14th The Maudsley® Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry The new edition of the world-renowned reference guide on the use of medications for patients presenting with mental health problems The Maudsley Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry is the essential evidence-based handbook on the safe and effective prescribing of psychotropic agents. Covering both common and complex prescribing situations encountered in day-to-day clinical practice, this comprehensive resource provides expert guidance on drug choice, minimum and maximum doses, adverse effects, switching medications, prescribing for special patient groups, and more. Each clear and concise chapter includes an up-to-date reference list providing easy access to the evidence on which the guidance is based. The fourteenth edition has been fully updated to incorporate the latest available research, the most recent psychotropic drug introductions, and all psychotropic drugs currently used in the UK, USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and Japan. Several new sections cover topics such as deprescribing of major psychiatric drugs, prescribing psychotropics at the end of life, the treatment of agitated delirium, the genetics of clozapine prescribing, the use of weekly penfluridol, and the treatment of psychotropic withdrawal. Featuring contributions by an experienced team of psychiatrists and specialist pharmacists, the new edition of The Maudsley Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry: Provides succinct coverage of drug treatment of psychiatric conditions and formulating prescribing policy in mental health Covers a wide range of psychiatric conditions including schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, depression and anxiety, borderline personality, eating disorders, and many others Provides advice on prescribing for children and adolescents, older people, pregnant women, and other special patient groups Offers new sections on genetic prescribing, long-acting injectable formulations, ketamine administration and uses, and dopamine super-sensitivity Includes referenced information on off-label prescribing, potential interactions with other substances such as alcohol, tobacco, and caffeine, and treating patients with comorbid physical conditions Whether in the doctor's office, in the clinic, or on the ward, The Maudsley Prescribing Guidelines in Psychiatry, Fourteenth Edition is a must-have for psychiatrists, pharmacists, neuropharmacologists, clinical psychologists, nurses, and other healthcare professionals working in mental health, as well as trainees and students in medicine, pharmacy, and nursing.
Stahl Online Drug Lookup With the range of psychotropic drugs expanding and the usages of existing medications diversifying, we are pleased to present the world's best-selling formulary in psychopharmacology.
Therapeutic Guidelines | Psychotropic Therapeutic Guidelines are written principally for prescribers to provide clear, practical, succinct and up-to-date therapeutic information for a range of diseases.

Books

Stahl Online
Stahl Online is a comprehensive and regularly updated resource that provides full access to the entire, current Cambridge portfolio of neuropsychopharmacology books by Dr Stephen M. Stahl. Covering everything that a doctor, teacher, trainee or nurse will ever need to know about neuropsychopharmacology, Stahl Online is practical and fully searchable – practitioners can find prescribing information and patient guidance materials easily and instantly.

Prescriber's Guide: Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology by Stephen M. Stahl
ISBN: 9781009464758

Publication Date: 2024-04-18
Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology by Stephen M. Stahl
ISBN: 9781108971638

Publication Date: 2021-07-29

Child and Adolescent Clinical Psychopharmacology Made Simple
John H. O'Neal, Mary C. Talaga & Bret Moore (2021)
The Clozapine Handbook
Jonathan Meher & Stephen M. Stahl (2020)
Psychopharmacology : A Mental Health Professional’s Guide to Commonly Used Medications
Herbert Mwebe (2021)
Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology: A Neuroscientific Basis & Practical Applications
Stephen M. Stahl (2021)

Related Guides

These NSLHD subject guides may also contain information of interest.