A selection of online resources and databases related to Medicines. For a full list of NSLHD database subscriptions go to Springboard
Journal Databases
Embase This link opens in a new window
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database. It includes all Medline content, and is a good source of information for pharmacology, rehabilitation, medicine, mental health and other areas.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine is a multimedia medical resource for clinicians. It has access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care.
AHFS Drug Information 2021
American Hospital Formulary Service by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) addresses increasingly complex issues related to drug therapy and formulary management.
Australian Medicines Handbook
AMH Online is an independent, evidence-based Australian drug guide. It has two major updates in January and July each year. Its unique comparative drug information allows users to compare drugs and make informed prescribing choices.
Database of Adverse Event Notifications
The TGA (Therapeutic Goods Administration) publishes the database of adverse event notifications for both medicines and medical devices.
eTG Complete
eTG Complete is the online version of Therapeutic Guidelines. These guidelines provide therapeutic information to health practitioners for the management of patients with specific conditions. Treatment guidelines include pharmacological and non-pharmacological treatment, the emphasis is on pharmacological treatment.
Micromedex
Micromedex is a suite of databases offering comprehensive drug, disease and toxicology-oriented information for health care professionals and patients.
MIMS Online
Australia's most comprehensive and authoritative pharmaceutical database. Incorporating information from MIMS Annual, MIMS Online provides access to essential information on over 4,500 prescription and non-prescription drugs.
