Subject Guides: Grey literature: Grey Sources & Repositories

Grey Sources & Repositories

Search for and access Australian content from the websites below.

Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet
The Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet is a web resource that aims to inform practice and policy in Indigenous health by making the evidence base readily available.
Google search within Australian government webpages
Add your search terms eg: elective surgery to search for content about elective surgery within Australian government webpages only.
Open Access Australasia
This website aims to be an authoritative source of information on all aspects of open access in Australia and New Zealand. Our major focus is on open access to research publications – preprints, peer reviewed scholarly manuscripts, books, monographs and theses. We also contribute to initiatives in open research practices, data, software, open educational resources, reform of research assessment and copyright and open licenses.
Primary Health Care Research and Information Service (PHCRIS) collection
The Primary Health Care Research & Information Service (PHCRIS) is a national primary health care organisation based at Flinders University in the Discipline of General Practice. PHCRIS contributes to improved primary health care policy and practice by increasing the exchange of information and knowledge about Australian primary health care research, evaluation and development.
Sydney University eScholarship Repository
The Sydney eScholarship repository collects and provides global access to University of Sydney research.
Trove
Trove allows you to explore the amazing collections from Australian libraries, universities, museums, galleries and archives - it can be a good place to look for Australian thesis.

Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been certified by peer review. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behaviour, and should not be reported in news media as established information.

Preprint servers directory
Directory of preprint servers
JMIR Publications
A preprint server for pre-publication/pre-peer-review preprints intended for community review as well as ahead-of-print (accepted) manuscripts
medRxiv
Preprints server of health science literature
Vixra.org
An alternative archive of 39496 e-prints in Science, Mathematics & Other Scholarly Areas serving the whole scientific community

A list of specialised search engines for more effective and efficient searching.

Carrot2
Carrot2 organizes your search results into topics. With an instant overview of what's available, you will quickly find what you're looking for. Option to categorise PubMed results only.
Google Scholar
Finds patents, case law, conference abstracts, thesis, and book chapters in addition to journal articles.
Lens.org
Lens serves global patent and scholarly knowledge as a public good to inform science and technology enabled problem solving. No account required.
MedNar
A search engine that uses federated search and deep web technology to improve search results. More details about how they work.
OAIster database
OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records that represent open access resources. This catalog was built through harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH).
OpenAlex
OpenAlex is a free and open catalog of the global research system, made by the nonprofit OurResearch.
Science.gov
Science.gov is a gateway to U.S. government science information. The portal offers free access to research and development (R&D) results and scientific and technical information from scientific organizations across 13 federal agencies.
Semantic Scholar
A free, AI-powered research tool for scientific literature

Archives and repositories of institutional works such as presentations, thesis and internal reports.

OpenDOAR
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.
DANS - Data Archiving and Networked Services
Easy online archiving systems
ROARMAP - Registry of Open Access Repository Mandates and Policies
The Registry of Open Access Repositories Mandatory Archiving Policies (ROARMAP) is a searchable international registry charting the growth of open access mandates adopted by universities, research institutions and research funders that require their researchers to provide open access to their peer-reviewed research article output by depositing it in an open access repository.