Biostatisticial support and consultation is available to assist with NSLHD staff members' research projects. See the NSLHD Research Hub for more details.
The Statistics and Data Analysis Subject Guide provides an overview of statistical software and resources available to NSLHD staff conducting research. It covers popular tools like SPSS, NVivo, REDCap, R, SAS, and Power BI, along with information on biostatistical support and additional learning resources.
SPSS (Statistical Package for the Social Sciences) is a computer software that provides statistical analysis of quantitative data. It allows for in-depth data access and preparation, analytical reporting, graphics and modelling.
NSLHD Libraries have 1 concurrent Version 29 Standard package (includes Base package), which can be used on most library PCs.
Additional resources on using SPSS are available.
NVivo is a qualitative research and data analysis software used by researchers in a broad range of fields including humanities, social sciences and medical/health sciences.
NVivo 15 Plus Enterprise is available on six PCs across NSLHD Libraries, including 2 at Douglas Piper Library (RNSH) and one at Hornsby, Macquarie, Mona Vale and Ryde.
Additional resources on using NVivo are available.
REDCap is a secure web platform for building and managing online databases and surveys. REDCap's streamlined process for rapidly creating and designing projects offers a vast array of tools that can be tailored to virtually any data collection strategy. More details available at My Research Hub.
NOTE: This cannot be accessed from home or on a personal device.
R is a free, open-source programming language and software environment for statistical computing and graphics. It is widely used by data analysts and statisticians for data analysis, visualization, and modeling. R provides a wide variety of statistical and graphical techniques, including linear and nonlinear modeling, classical statistical tests, time-series analysis, clustering, and more.
Additional resources on R are available.
SAS (Statistical Analysis System) is a software suite widely used for advanced analytics, business intelligence, data management, and predictive modeling. It provides a comprehensive set of tools for data analysis, visualization, and reporting.
SAS OnDemand for Academics is free to download and install on personal devices.
SAS (full edition 9.4) is approved for installation on NSLHD PCs, for further details, please contact the Technology Shop (Sharepoint page).
Additional SAS resources are available.
Power BI is a collection of software services, apps, and connectors that work together to turn your unrelated sources of data into coherent, visually immersive, and interactive insights. Your data might be an Excel spreadsheet, or a collection of cloud-based and on-premises hybrid data warehouses. Power BI lets you easily connect to your data sources, visualize and discover what's important, and share that with anyone or everyone you want.
Visit the following sites for more details:
These NSLHD subject guides may also contain information of interest:
For other specialty guides go to our Subject Guides menu>Topic Guides
Stata is a complete, integrated software package that provides all your data science needs—data manipulation, visualization, statistics, and automated reporting. NSLHD Libraries holds